Delhi Diffence English India

Pulwama terror attack 3rd anniversary

Written by Subhash Krishnan

Thirty eight CRPF jawans were killed in a powerful IED blast on the Jammu-Srinagar highway on 14 February 2019. A CRPF convoy of 70 vehicles was targeted by an explosives-laden SUV that was being driven by a Jaish suicide bomber identified as Adil Ahmad Dar.

The 2019 Pulwama attack occurred on 14 February 2019, when a convoy of vehicles carrying Indian security personnel on the Jammu-Srinagar National Highway was attacked by a vehicle-borne suicide bomber at Lethapora in the Pulwama district of the erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir. On 14 February 2019, a convoy of 78 vehicles transporting more than 2,500 Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) personnel from Jammu to Srinagar was travelling on National Highway 44. The convoy had left Jammu around 03:30 and was carrying a large number of personnel due to the highway having been shut down for two days prior. The convoy was scheduled to reach its destination before sunset.  At Lethpora near Awantipora, around 03:15 a bus carrying security personnel was rammed by a car carrying explosives. It caused a blast which killed 40 CRPF personnel of the 76th Battalion and injured many others. The injured were moved to the army base hospital in Srinagar. Pakistan-based militant group Jaish-e-Mohammed claimed responsibility for the attack. They also released a video of the assailant Adil Ahmad Dar, a 22-year-old from Kakapora who had joined the group a year earlier. Dar’s family had last seen him in March 2018, when he left his house on a bicycle one day and never returned. Pakistan denied any involvement, though Jaish-e-Mohammed’s leader, Masood Azhar, is known to operate in the country.It is the deadliest terror attack on India’s state security personnel in Kashmir since 1989.
Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi condemned the attack and expressed solidarity with the victims and their families. Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh assured that a strong response will be given to the terror attack. India blamed Pakistan for the attack. The United States condemned the attack and added it would work with India in counter-terrorism efforts. It asked Pakistan to stop sheltering terrorists and urged it to cooperate with the investigation and punish those responsible. Pakistan said it was ready to cooperate with such an investigation. A statement from the US Department of State noted that Pakistan-based Jaish-e-Mohammed had claimed responsibility for the attack. The Indian cricket team paid tribute to the 40 soldiers killed in the Pulwama attack by wearing the camouflage caps instead of the usual sky blue team India cap, during the third One Day International match with Australia in Ranchi. Pakistan objected to this gesture and Pakistani Information Minister Fawad Chaudhry and Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi called the International Cricket Council (ICC) to ban the Indian team for allegedly mixing cricket with politics. The Pakistani Cricket Board formally raised the matter with the ICC. The ICC clarified that the Indian team had requested and was granted permission by the ICC to wear the camouflage caps as a part of fundraising drive and to pay tribute to the soldiers killed in the attack.

Here is a complete list of the martyred CRPF Jawans:

Jammu sector:

1. Naseer Ahmad (Jammu and Kashmir)
2. Jaimal Singh (Punjab)
3. Sukhjinder Singh (Punjab)
4. Tilak Raj (Himachal Pradesh)
5. Rohitash Lamba (Rajasthan)

Srinagar Sector:

6. Vijay Soreng (Jharkhand)
7. Vasantha Kumar VV (Kerala)
8. Subramaniam G (Tamil Nadui)
9. Manoja Kumar Behera (Odisha)
10. GD Guru H (Karnataka)
11. Narayan Lal Gurjar (Rajasthan)
12. Mahesh Kumar (Uttar Pradesh)
13. Pradeep Kumar (Uttar Pradesh)
14. Hemraj Meena (Rajasthan)
15. PK Sahoo (Odisha)
16. Ramesh Yadav (Uttar Pradesh)
17. Sanjay Rajput (Maharashtra)
18. Koushal Kumar Rawat (Uttar Pradesh)
19. Pradeep Singh (Uttar Pradesh)
20. Shyam Babu (Uttar Pradesh)
21. Ajit Kumar Azad (Uttar Pradesh)
22. Maninder Singh Attri (Punjab)
23. Bablu Santra (West Bengal)
24. Ashvni Kumar Kaochi (Madhya Pradesh)
25. Rathod Nitin Shivaji (Maharashtra)
26. Bhagirathi Singh (Rajasthan)
27. Virendra Singh (Uttarakhand)
28. Awadhesh Kumar Yadav (Uttar Pradesh)
29. Ratan Kumar Thakur (Bihar)
30. Kankaj Kumar Tripathi (Uttar Pradesh)
31. Jeet Ram (Rajasthan)
32. Amit Kumar (Uttar Pradesh)
33. Vijay Kr. Mourya (Uttar Pradesh)
34. Kulwinder Singh (Punjab)
35. Maneswar Bsumatari (Assam)
36. Mohan Lal (Uttarakhand)
37. Sanjay Kumar Sinha (Bihar)
38. Ram Vakeel (Uttar Pradesh)


About the author

Subhash Krishnan

Leave a Comment